Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Care and Maintenance July 24, 2009

Filed under: Colour,Flower,Summer,Watering,Weather,Weekend Work — northernwindowgardener @ 8:58 pm
Tags:

GeraniumThank you Mother Nature – doing all the hard work while I get to sit back with my feet up and enjoy the mini-forest growing outside my window. A little bit of dead-heading here, a lot of watering there and hey presto! everything keeps on chugging away – day AND night it seems (I’m sure things are visibly bigger when I look in the morning that when I go to bed.

Of course it’s not all sweetness and light in these northern climes. A couple of thunderstorms and a stiffer breeze have tested the hardiness of these flower boxes. But with eight weeks or so of good growing behind them the majority are proving robust enough to cope with the slightly harsher conditions. And I’m confident that even if we go to gale force for a couple of days they’ll be able to bounce back in good time.

DSC_0018And as a special bonus (and I’ll kick myself for saying this, I know!) but the aphid problem has disappeared over the last couple of weeks. There are a few caterpillars munching their way through the nasturtium leaves in particular. Other than that the boxes are disease free which is very welcome given how easily any pest would spread.

So I’m putting my feet up, enjoying the patchy sunshine and letting Mother Nature take the strain for now ๐Ÿ™‚

 

3 Responses to “Care and Maintenance”

  1. Flighty Says:

    It’s looking really good. There’s nothing better than sitting back and enjoying the results of your work earlier in the year.
    It’s all so satisfying! Enjoy the weekend!

  2. Glo Says:

    Glad you are able to relax now and enjoy the fruits of your labours! Looks terrific and I’ve really enjoyed following along from seed to flower ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks for the comments as always. It’s been fun seeing everything grow. I need to do a couple of time sequence posts to remind myself just how much everything has grown, even since planting the boxes up in May.


Leave a Reply

