Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Keeping Track July 3, 2009

Filed under: Colour,Flower,Review,Summer — northernwindowgardener @ 7:00 am
Tags:

PetuniaWhen I planted all the window boxes this year I neatly wrote little tabs for each type and slipped them carefully into the side of the box.

Then as I added some more plants I wrote out some more tabs. Then I forgot to write some tabs. Then I took out some nasturtiums that had died and randomly replaced them with more seeds. And of course I forgot to write tabs for those as well.

Is there a moral to this story? Well only that if I had a proper garden then I’d have no idea how to cope. And so I’m full of admiration for those with big gardens or allotments where there’s a whole range of plants that all need their own special treatment.

This year was about experimentation to see what would work and what wouldn’t. I had thought that I would be able to track the progress of each plant and keep a useful record that I could use again next year. So much for that idea! I bit off much more than I could chew and now it’s just as much as I can do to sit back and watch how everything goes.

Maybe at some point I’ll be able to make some judgement on how things have done but I don’t think I’m quite ready to take on something much bigger than a window box at the moment.

 

3 Responses to “Keeping Track”

  1. Glo Says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you thought up the idea of having window boxes way up there in the first place, and then proceeded to bring your idea to ‘fruition’ ~ It must be lovely to have colour at your windows, no matter whether you grew the plants from seed or bought them ~ as far as tags go, that can become confusing, but at least they kept things organized at first. I think you have it all figured out in your head by now, anyway. You’ve put so much of yourself into the windowboxes, that next year, they’ll evolve as second nature. Time now to relax and enjoy, with the odd plucking off the spent bits. 🙂

  2. Flighty Says:

    I’m sure that you’d cope admirably with a big garden! I don’t use tabs or keep many notes so have to rely on my memory, which at times is well suspect!
    As Glo says you’ve done the hard bit so now’s the time to sit back and enjoy your colourful garden.

  3. You’re both right of course. My feeling is that at first it’s daunting because you think that each plant needs it’s particular care and conditions to flourish and it seems that this makes it all so complicated (unless you stick to one type of course but who wants that!)
    As you build up experience it becomes obvious that some plants are a bit hardier and others just don’t grow no matter how much attention you lavish on them. So finding the plants that respond well to the way you garden seems to be a simple process of trial and error and learning to accept that nature always knows best!


Leave a Reply

