Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Season 2 June 21, 2009

Filed under: Colour,Flower,Review,Summer — northernwindowgardener @ 4:14 pm
Tags: ,
Shelly

Two Trailing Petunias and Geraniums

It was around this time last year that I got the notion to have some window boxes. I didn’t have any idea that it would end up taking so much of my time, that I would start blogging about it or that I would learn (and enjoy) it so much. Really, how difficult could it be to have a few flowers on a window ledge?

The reality is that it’s as difficult as you want it to be.

If you’d just like something pretty to look at over the summer months then a visit to the garden centre, a couple of hours of prep and planting and ten minutes every couple of days to water and you’ll be fine.

On the other hand if you’d like to try for year-round colour and would prefer to avoid buying everything ‘ready-made’ then you’ll have to give it a lot more time and attention. But even then it will be interesting, rewarding and satisfying  just so long as you’re prepared for the occasional set-back along with all the success.

And a small final point. When I started this blog late last year I had to keep looking to borrow other people’s photographs to brighten the place up. Now I’m lucky if I use a tenth of the pictures I take!

 

2 Responses to “Season 2”

  1. Flighty Says:

    Well done on doing as good as you have, you should be proud of what you’ve achieved. There’s always success and failure but as you rightly say it’s well worth doing.
    I reckon that gardening and blogging go hand-in-hand!
    I take loads to photos too, few of which I use. That’s another gardener’s trait!

  2. Yes, it’s nice to have a collection of pictures to look back on and to remind oneself that these boxes didn’t always look so full of flowers!


Leave a Reply

