Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Pestilence May 28, 2009

Filed under: Info,pests,Spring — northernwindowgardener @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , ,

The GatheringYou might not be able to see them in this small picture but I can assure you that there are hundreds of aphids making a good living on the leaves of these crocus plants. This was one of many reasons why this particular box was completely cleaned out – with the plants thrown away and the box itself given a good scrub.

Being some distance off the ground slugs and snails haven’t been a bother. But aphids really took a liking to the crocuses and sadly they’ve also migrated onto the brachycome seedlings then onto the verbena.

They really are very sneaky and I have trouble seeing them at first. But once you see one you know there are likely to be more. The underside of young leaves seem to be a favourite haunt. I wonder if the soil I used last year could have been the source of them as when I went to use the remainder there were lots of black flies in the bag – which wasn’t a happy discovery. Needless to say it was thrown out immediately but the damage may have been done.

I generally try to steer clear of chemical remedies so after reading this useful article on aphid control I’ve been knocking them off with a handy cotton bud and will move on to some soap solution if that doesn’t work. It looks like it will be a constant battle of wills though as they multiply at an incredible rate if left alone.

 

6 Responses to “Pestilence”

  1. Flighty Says:

    I sympathise! However at least you don’t get a fox digging in yours
    http://flightplot.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=3388

  2. I’ve seen a few urban foxes but none that have felt the need to climb the drainpipes yet. I bet they would if they thought it was worth it though!

    I take it that your visitor just wanders around taking what he wants?

  3. Flighty Says:

    There’s a fox family on the allotments. Although I’ve not seen any of them for a while there’s always evidence like this that they’re around.

  4. Glo Says:

    I don’t think aphids were the wildlife you were hoping for! Ladybirds farm them, but do they fly that high? PS Don’t put the idea of foxes climbing drainpipes in my head! My imagination loves that kind of stuff!

  5. Ha ha ha! Now you have me worried!


Leave a Reply

