Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Planting … Shelly May 21, 2009

Filed under: Accessories,Flower,Indoor,Info,Review,Seeds,Spring,Summer,Weekend Work — northernwindowgardener @ 7:00 am
Tags: , ,

The PlanI’m nothing if not thorough – and a little over-prepared as you can see from the chicken scatchings on the left. This was my final plan for planting the boxes, which along with a spreadsheet … yes, I have a spreadsheet to keep track of what I planted, where and how much I had left … helped me make sure I used everything I had available. And before you say it, yes, I do recognise the insanity of all this.

Each box had its own little diagram (this isn’t making it sound any better) although I still managed to ever-so-slightly mess up by changing my mind and then being unable to read my own handwriting. What that says about all that pre-planning I’ll leave you to decide.

The method to plant each box was mostly the same although I learned to make it a little easier as I went along.

Sitting on EmptyStarted off with the empty box.

Flower ArrangingThen all the plants were arranged.

Back to our rootsI dug a little space then using a spare 3″ pot pushed it into the soil to make a good sized hole for each plant to drop into. Then knocked the plants out of their pots, trying not to damge them as I did so. You can see from this pic that there was nice root development on the geraniums.

Stage 1The geraniums went in first to give a strong background.

All FillerThen an aster and a couple of peach naturtiums to give some contrast.

ShellyAnd last in were two purple trailing petunia surfinia and a mini trailing petunia in the middle which is supposed to have a red and white candy stripe flower. Lets not say too much about the colour combination, it’ll just be nice if they flower!

Wet Wet WetAnd finally everything got a thorough soaking …

Soaked.. and that meant EVERYTHING.

So there we go, all planted to plan, watered and then popped out on to the window ledge to get smashed to pieces by the wind and alternately dried out by the sun and drowned by my over-watering.

 

3 Responses to “Planting … Shelly”

  1. Flighty Says:

    I look forward to seeing Shelly in all her glory come the summer.
    Gardeners should always be optimistic so your last line will be ignored!

  2. Glo Says:

    Your geraniums do look excellent and healthy, and should provide a great showing ~ I like the assortment that makes up the remainder of Shelly box as well. They all look ready for the elements! Your posts would make an excellent book ~ you have such a wonderful way of writing, with your sense of humour shining through! Your pre-planning, spreadsheets, diagrams etc. are most impressive ~ and your description is priceless. The last line ‘knocked me for a burton’…(is that a saying that you recognize ~ it must be an old Cumbrian expression ?!) I chuckled away through your post and then laughed out loud at the end ~ but of course, this whole gardening thing is a serious matter, so I’ve pulled myself together, and look forward to more adventures of plants living on the edge. 😉

  3. Flighty, yes, must be more optimistic – I blame the genes. Lets hope it’s not a self-fulfilling prophecy. In fact now that I think about it it’s more of a warning to myself to be careful and look after averything.

    Glo – Thanks for the comments. Very serious business this gardening. Very. Having seen the recent articles on the Chelsea Flower Show it does come across as a little precious sometimes. Whereas folks like you and Flighty are much more from my side and a bit more irreverent.
    Understand the “knocked for a burton” comment – would agree that it’s a ‘south of the border’ expression but it travels well.


Leave a Reply

