Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Seed watch – week 3 February 25, 2009

Filed under: Flower,Indoor,Seeds,Spring,Watering,Winter — northernwindowgardener @ 4:28 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

GeraniumsBlessed are the geraniums, for they know not when to stop.

I’m 10 out of 10 on geranium seedlings so I think I can rightly call myself an expert now. Any geranium problems? Just drop me an email 😉

Ah! If only it was that easy, yes? They are making great progress though and, while it may only be fleeting, there’s a small sense of satisfaction.

As I mentioned in a comment, I started the seeds a bit early, partly out of being impetuous, but also in case I messed things up (highly likely) and needed some time to try again. So far though the first batch are doing quite well and I’m starting to think about how I’ll pot them on and when to start the next batch. I have other seeds like nasturtiums and … well, I forget the rest(!) that I’d like to try and they suggested planting more towards March and April. It will only become more confusing and disorganised from here I can assure you.

I wouldn’t say I’ve solved the watering issue but a bit of growth has given me more confidence in what I’m doing. In general I keep the propagator pretty moist by knocking the condensed water on the plastic cover back onto the seed tray at night and in the morning. Then every two or three days, if it’s starting to look a bit dry, I stand the tray in an inch of water for an hour or so to let the soil soak from the bottom. I can feel the disdainful looks of the experienced gardeners as I type, but it’s working for me at the moment so <shrug> 🙂

For those that are keeping tabs:

Geranium – 10 of 10

Verbena – 4/10

Marigold – 4/10

Lobelia -2/10

Aster – 2/5

Total – 22/45

 

4 Responses to “Seed watch – week 3”

  1. Glo Says:

    Wow! Way to go Geraniums! Soon you’ll be able to open up your own gardening centre 😉 Another enjoyable read ~ sounds like you have a good system going there for your little mini greenhouses. Thanks for the ideas re watering.

  2. Thanks Glo. I’d like to think there’s a logical system going on there but it quickly gets out of control and relies on instinct – which at this point is a bit lacking!

  3. Flighty Says:

    There’s often no real right or wrong way of gardening just different ways. Find what instinctively works for you and go from there.
    An overall fifty percent success rate so far is good going believe me. Well done!

  4. I can’t take any credit for those Geraniums – I really messed about for the first couple of weeks so they’ve endured temperature, light and watering changes and taken them all in their stride. Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

