Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Doorway Gardening – Part 2 February 11, 2009

Filed under: Colour,Flower,Winter — northernwindowgardener @ 1:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

Gardening on the StoopA different angle on a picture I posted a few days ago. The more I looked at it the more I saw so I’ve invited people to download the big version of the picture from my Flickr site and see if they can help identify some more plants.

I can see some cyclamen and I’m fairly sure that’s witch hazel at the back left but the rest are a mystery. Why not have a look and see if you can help out!

Looking again at the photo (and its partner) I really started to notice some odd details. The container at bottom right has soil and roots piled at least as high again as the pot.

Looking up the left side there appear to be quite a few others that are done the same way. In fact it made me wonder whether there are really any pots up the inside. Maybe it’s just a big pile of soil and roots with the pots making sure it doesn’t spill out onto the stairs!

I accept that having window boxes can make gardening seem like a scientific test; the space is small, the plant range is finite  and the conditions can be controlled – up to a point. Each plant can be given a space that suits it best, and care that will help it to prosper.

A container garden like this though seems more of an organic free-for-all. How they keep track of each plant is a mystery. And as for a watering scheme I’m guessing it’s a once over with a garden hose whenever feels right (how the downstairs neighbours might feel about that is unknown!)

Minimalist EntranceOf course not all doorsteps are quite so free range. Some go for the clean neat lines of bay trees. The containers seem much more important as a focal point but the trees themselves are quite easy on the eye.

I think I like the suck it and see version better though 😉

 

3 Responses to “Doorway Gardening – Part 2”

  1. Flighty Says:

    As you say the big photo shows a slightly different picture as it certainly looks in need of some TLC!
    I can’t identify any plants straight off but I’ll have a another look tomorrow.

  2. Glo Says:

    Although your larger photo does show more detail, I still can’t make out individual plants. There sure are a lot of them!

  3. I hadn’t realised that Flickr trimmed the large size photo I uploaded so it’s much harder than I thought to see the individual plants! I’ve uploaded a cropped version to Flickr which will make it a bit better for those who are really bored!


Leave a Reply

