Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Weekend Work January 15, 2009

Filed under: Autumn,Weather,Winter — northernwindowgardener @ 1:25 pm

Joel

The first couple of weeks of the year have been unseasonably warm, with temperatures above 10 degrees. This has probably (I say probably as I have nothing to judge it against) given the winter plants an opportunity to survive in a better condition than could reasonably be expected.

As a result I spent some time at the weekend (which turned out to be proto-typical filthy, rainy, windy Scottish days) removing most of the Autumn plants that had been limply hanging on, and generally tidying the better boxes up. A couple of boxes still need tidied up but they were soaked from the heavy rain so they were left until later. After removing various dead plants I topped off each box with some soil.This was to even up the boxes and make them look less scrappy rather than for any growing or feeding reason. It’s at times like this that I understand how little I know and how much there is still to learn. Is this a good time to add soil? Should I be feeding them more, or less?

Another reason for adding some soil is that there are a few spring bulbs that are seriously considering showing themselves to the world. I suspect the warm weather has encouraged them, and it’s good to know that there’s a bit of growth going on, but early January is just not the time for them to be coming into the world. Unless this is a very strange winter, there are some seriously cold days (and nights) just around the corner.

 

3 Responses to “Weekend Work”

  1. Flighty Says:

    Hello I’ve arrived here via the Guardian garden blog.
    What a good, interesting and unusual gardening blog this is!
    I shall read through all your posts over the next few days and make comments on some of them.
    I look forward to seeing how you get on during the year, and so I don’t forget I’ve added this to the Lawn loungers list on my Flighty’s plot blog.
    Let’s hope that we have a good, and successful, gardening year!

  2. northernwindowgardener Says:

    Thanks for you comments and for taking a look around. I’m sure I’ll look back at some of my posts and blush with how naive I was but there’s no pressure – happy to admit I don’t know what I’m doing!

  3. Flighty Says:

    You’re welcome. I’ve enjoyed reading through all your posts over the past few days.
    Maybe so but everyone starts off like that! You’ll be surprised at just how quickly you come to know what you’re doing, at least most of the time, given your apparent enthusiasm.


Leave a Reply

