Northern Exposure

Triumphs and failures on a window ledge.

Full Circle November 11, 2009

Filed under: Autumn,bulbs,Flower,Winter — northernwindowgardener @ 1:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

It’s apt that this post comes without a picture as it’s the lack of photography that’s slowed the blog posts down to barely a drip.

As each window box developed it’s own eco-system it got harder to keep track of what was happening and although there were plenty of changes it was too easy to think that they looked much the same as the previous week. This was a mistake of course. Had I kept taking the pictures each week the changes would have been obvious and there would have been a nice record of the rise and fall of the window garden.

Unfortunately I didn’t do this and so the blog slowed down as a consequence.

Since summer when I was able to bask in the glory of my earlier planning (everything from spring bulbs to seed planting produced results) it’s been a little depressing to think about the impending winter and almost a complete restart of the process. Watching the slow degredation of the plants that had provided such a lovely display was almost too much. But by this weekend the state of the boxes had become too bad even for me to leave any longer.

A visit to the garden centres on the weekend demonstrated that I had procrastinated far longer than I realised. Instead of pansies and cyclamen there was just aisle after aisle of (whisper it!) Christmas trees! Multiple journeys to other shops all resulted in the same scene. Where had all the bulbs gone?! Was I really much more prepared last year? How is it November already?

With little to choose from a bit of creativity was required so instead of pretty frost-resistant cyclamen there will be fingers-crossed primroses. Violas instead of pansies, and some unusual shrubby type Ajuga, Calocephalus and Cineraria. If anything it will at least be interesting to see what survives!

And in a month or so it will be time to look out the seed packets and get planning again for those warmer longer days when the flowers are in full bloom and the feet can be put up.

Addendum: Having had a quick look back I see that I started this blog around the same time last year but that I had done the winter planting in September! No wonder there was nothing left in the garden centres!!

 

3 Responses to “Full Circle”

  1. Flighty Says:

    The year has certainly flown by! I was thinking of you the other week when I planted up my plot ‘window box’ with mini daffodils and white crocus.
    It’s always said that the first year is a learning one and I’m sure that next year will provide you with lots of colour and interest! Cheers!

  2. Glo Says:

    Nice to see you :) Yes, it is amazing how November is suddenly upon us. We had a lovely summer and fall, so can’t complain. I still have stuff in my window boxes, so must see if I can save anything. Perhaps you can blog about something else while you are waiting for your primroses to appear ~ What keeps you occupied during the colder months?

  3. Time does fly – make the most of it! In winter it’s ok to dream of what to plant for spring and summer but when it the warmer days come I’d just like to press the pause button for a little longer!
    Thanks for your comments, I read and enjoy both or your blogs regularly.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.